Home - Conference information - Panels and workshops

Panels and workshops

Nordic/Baltic collaboration on doctoral studies, open discussion

Time: Monday 15th June, 17.00 – 18.30

Venue: the icebreaker Suur Tõll seminar room, Vesilennuki 6 Tallinn

This is an attempt to find ways of collaborating on doctoral courses and other activities for doctoral candidates. Geography is a strong and well established, but relatively small discipline in the Nordic/Baltic context. In order to create high quality courses and other activities that creates an identity to geography as a discipline and that help to develop geography, we propose more collaboration between Nordic and Baltic countries. In this session that takes place just before the reception that marks the opening of the Nordic Geography Meeting in Tallinn we invite you to a meeting where we introduce the idea of a joint Nordic PhD course as well as to discuss other ways in which we could extend our collaboration on doctoral studies in geography.

The meeting is sponsored by the Norwegian Researcher School in Geography (https://www.ntnu.edu/nrsg), contact Cathrine Brun, Department of Geography, Cathrine.brun....at....svt.ntnu.no
 

List of panels and workshops

Cooperation between English study programmes and modules in geography (Rein Ahas; rein.ahas....at....ut.ee and Olof Stjernström, University of Tartu & Umeå University)

Looking at spaces of tourism: place branding and spatial stories (Tiina Peil; tiina.peil....at....tlu.ee, Tallinn University)

Placing critical geography in a Nordic context (Lawrence Berg; Lawrence.berg@ubc.ca, University of British Columbia)

Youthful lived citizenship: imagined politics and political imaginations (Elina Stenvall; elina.stenvall....at....uta.fi, Zsuzsa Millei and Kirsi Pauliina Kallio, University of Tampere)

Politicizing Art and Creative Practices? A Provocation for Geographers (Martin Zebracki; M.M.Zebracki....at....leeds.ac.uk, University of Leeds and Harriet Hawkins, Royal Holloway, University of London)

The Politics of Publishing In Nordic Geography (Phil Steinberg; steinbergphil@gmail.comPolitical Geography and Gavin Bridge, Transactions of the Institute of British Geographers)

Dysfunctional housing markets (Guy Baeten, guy.baeten....at....keg.lu.se, Lund University) 

Earthly matters: the geo-social and materialist geopolitics (Kärg Kama; karg.kama....at....ouce.ox.ac.uk, University of Oxford; Andrew Barry; a.barry....at....ucl.ac.uk, University College London; Richard Powell; richard.powell....at....ouce.ox.ac.uk, University of Oxford)