THE NORDIC BALTIC DOCTORAL NETWORK IN SOCIAL WORK (NBSW)

Summer school 21st-24th August 2018 Tallinn, ESTONIA

Multi-disciplinarity and multi-positioning in social work research – balancing closeness and distance

Location: Tallinn University, Narva road 25 (<u>Terra building</u>) Rooms T416, T415, T420

TUESDAY 21th August 2018		
08:30 – 09:00 Terra building, 4 th floor	Arrival and registration	
09:00 - 10:30 Room T416	Opening session: greetings from organising universities, presentation of	
Koom 1410	participants, practical information Indrek Grauberg, Director of the School of Governance, Law and Society (SOGOLAS, Tallinn University)	
	Prof Merike Sisask (SOGOLAS, Tallinn University) Prof Riina Kiik (Norwegian University of Science and Technology)	
10:30 - 11:00	Coffee break	
11:00 - 13:00	Keynote speaker	
Room T416	Marianne Hedlund	
	Adj Professor (Norwegian University of Science and Technology, NORWAY) "Multi-disciplinarity and multi-positioning in social work research – balancing closeness and distance"	
13:00 - 14:00	Lunch	
14:00 - 16:00	Keynote speaker	
Room T416	Katrin Niglas	
	Vice-Rector for Research (Tallinn University, ESTONIA)	
	"Positioning of researchers' mental models in the multidimensional	
	continuum of philosophical and methodological approaches"	
16:00 - 16:30	Coffee break	
16:30 – 17:30 Rooms T416, T415, T420	Parallel group sessions – orientation and student papers (presentation/discussion)	
19:00	Dinner in the town (self organised, optional)	

WEDNESDAY 22 nd	August 2018
09:00 – 10:30 Rooms T416, T415, T420	Parallel group sessions – student papers (presentation/discussion)
10:30 - 11:00	Coffee break
11:00 - 13:00	Keynote speaker
Room T416	Aila-Leena Matthies
	Professor (University of Jyväskylä, FINLAND)
	"Transdisciplinary research of sustainable society – place of social work"
13:00 - 14:30	Lunch
14:30 - 16:00	Parallel group sessions – student papers (presentation/discussion)
Rooms T416, T415, T420	
16:00 - 18:00	Site visit to the Tallinn Mental Health Center (Lasnamäe Activity Center)







THURSDAY 23 th August 2018		
09:00 - 10:30	Parallel group sessions – student papers (presentation/discussion)	
Rooms T416, T415, T420		
10:30 - 11:00	Coffee break	
11:00 - 13:00	Keynote speaker	
Room T416	Judit Strömpl	
	Associate Professor (University of Tartu, ESTONIA)	
	"Balancing closeness and distance in social work research"	
13:00 - 14:30	Lunch	
14:30 - 16:00	Parallel group sessions – student papers (presentation/discussion)	
Rooms T416, T415, T420		
16:00 - 17:30	Meeting of the coordination group of the NBSW	
Room T416		
19:00	NBSW meeting for PhD students, supervisors and senior researchers	
Restaurant "Kaerajaan",	"Development of networking and collaboration for multidisciplinary-	
modern Estonian cuisine (17 Town Hall Square)	oriented research in social work"	
(17 10 mil Hall bequare)		

FRIDAY 24th August 2018

09:00 - 11:00	Keynote speaker
Room T416	Lars Uggerhøj
	Professor (Aalborg University, DENMARK)
	"Flexible methodology – using the same methodological approach with
	different partners in different contexts within the same research project"
11:00 - 11:30	Coffee break
11:30 - 12:30	Panel presentation and discussion with the steering committee of the NBSW
Room T416	
12:30 - 13:30	Concluding session: evaluation, conclusion and other closing ceremonies
Room T416	

Parallel group sessions – student papers (presentation/discussion)

Group 1

Room T416

Chairs: Merike Sisask (Estonia) & Lars Uggerhøj (Denmark)

Seth Amofah (Estonia), Edgar da Silva Carreira (Finland), Gyða Hjartardóttir (Iceland), **Students:**

Tereza Palánová (Czech Republic), Ozan Selcuk (Turkey), Sofia Smolle (Sweden)

Group 2

Room T415

Chairs: Riina Kiik (Norway) & Anne Moe (Norway)

Students: Asdis Arnalds (Iceland), Jolita Junevičienė (Lithuania), Karolina Hrdá (Czech

Republic), Hiromitsu Makino (Estonia), Anna Pekkarinen (Finland), Nika Söderlund

(Sweden), Tiia-Triin Truusa (Estonia)

Group 3 Room T420

Chairs: Timo Harrikari (Finland) & Maija Jäppinen (Finland)

Students: Abdulai Muhammed (Estonia), Jūratė Charenkova (Lithuania), Íris Dögg Lárusdóttir

(Iceland), Petra Malin (Finland), Aiga Romāne-Meiere (Latvia), Koidu Saia (Estonia),

Pernille Wisti (Denmark)





