People

Office
Name Profession Room E-mail Phone no.
Uku Lember Director S-555 uku.lember@tlu.ee +372 619 9530
Siiri Soidro Head of Studies S-407 siiri.soidro@tlu.ee +372 640 9308
Terje Kalamees Administrative Head S-503 terje.kalamees@tlu.ee +372 640 9317
Maris Peters Internationalisation Coordinator S-408 maris.peters@tlu.ee +372 640 9344
Kerstin Liiva Research Coordinator M-343 kerstin.liiva@tlu.ee +372 619 9535
Helina Puksmann Study Counsellor S-409 helina.puksmann@tlu.ee +372 640 9312
Karmen Alamets Study Counsellor-Study Specialist S-409 karmen.alamets@tlu.ee +372 640 9309
Signe Steinpilm Study Counsellor S-409 signe.steinpilm@tlu.ee +372 640 9376
Jana Lehtsalu Study Specialist S-406 jana.lehtsalu@tlu.ee +372 640 9323
Riina Uudemets Assistant A-435 riina.uudemets@tlu.ee +372 640 9126
Merje Olm Training Manager S-406 merje.olm@tlu.ee +372 640 9316
Mall Ümarik Project Coordinator M-343 mall.umarik@tlu.ee +372 6409 353
Eva Kruuse Project Coordinator M-343 eva.kruuse@tlu.ee +372 619 9574
Heli Hiieleek Financial Manager S-554, S-554 heli.hiieleek@tlu.ee +372 640 9256
Ahyoon Choi Study Assistant S-334 ahyoon.choi@tlu.ee 6409338
Elis Ohak Project Coordinator S-554 elis.ohak@tlu.ee +372 6409 336
Liina Taalberg Administrative Assistant S-506 liina.taalberg@tlu.ee +372 619 9555
Liina Mai Research Assistant M-343 liina.mai@tlu.ee 6 199 575
Jeong Im Kim Study Assistant S-334 jeongim.kim@tlu.ee 6409338
Reelika Vaiksaar Marketing and Communication Specialist S-506 reelika.vaiksaar@tlu.ee +3726409335
Study Area: Asian Studies
Name Profession Room E-mail Phone no.
Helen Geršman Lecturer of Middle-Eastern Studies M-318 helen.gersman@tlu.ee +372 6199 538
Rein Raud Distinguished Professor of Asian Studies rein.raud@tlu.ee
Alari Allik Associate Professor M-319 alari.allik@tlu.ee
Lisa Indraccolo Professor of Chinese Studies M-305 lisa.indraccolo@tlu.ee +372 619 9562
Miikael-Aadam Lotman Junior Lecturer M-309 miikael-aadam.lotman@tlu.ee
Üllar Peterson Junior Lecturer of Middle-Eastern Studies M-330 ullar.peterson@tlu.ee
Akiko Masaki(Kadarik) Teacher of Japanese M-313 akiko.masaki@tlu.ee +372 619 9546
Alice Volkonski Teacher of Arabic Language M-330 alice.volkonski@tlu.ee
Karin Dean Associate Professor M-311 karin.dean@tlu.ee +372 619 9545
Jekaterina Koort Visiting Lecturer M-313 jekaterina.koort@tlu.ee
Mikk Raud Visiting Research Fellow mikk.raud@tlu.ee
Laur Kiik Visiting Research Fellow lauri.kiik@tlu.ee
Rüüt Kaljula Visiting Research Fellow ruut.kaljula@tlu.ee
Rando Künnapuu Visiting Research Fellow rando.kunnapuu@tlu.ee
Karel Jõeleht Junior Research Fellow karel.joeleht@tlu.ee
Leslie Leino Visiting Research Fellow leslie.leino@tlu.ee
Study Area: History
Name Profession Room E-mail Phone no.
Kersti Markus Professor of Art History M-323 kersti.markus@tlu.ee +372 619 9556
Karsten Brüggemann Professor of Estonian and General History M-404, M-404 karsten.bruggemann@tlu.ee +372 6199 534
Ulrike Plath Professor Professor of Environmental History M-409 ulrike.plath@tlu.ee +372 6199 525
Kaarel Vanamölder Associate Professor of the History of Communication and Applied History M-409 kaarel.vanamolder@tlu.ee
Tiiu Kreegipuu Lecturer of History and History Didactics M-309 tiiu.kreegipuu@tlu.ee
Hanna-Liis Kaarlõp Junior Lecturer of History Didactics M-322 hanna-liis.kaarlop@tlu.ee
Lembi Anepaio Junior Research Fellow lembi.anepaio@tlu.ee
James Montgomery Baxenfield Junior Research Fellow james_montgomery.baxenfield@tlu.ee
Jelizaveta Hristokina Junior Research Fellow jelizaveta.hristokina@tlu.ee
Heidi Rifk Junior Research Fellow heidi.rifk@tlu.ee
Study Area: Estonian Language and Culture
Name Profession Room E-mail Phone no.
Merilin Aruvee Lecturer of L1 Didactics and Applied Linguistics S-548 merilin.aruvee@tlu.ee +372 640 9318
Anna Verschik Distinguished Professor of General Linguistics S-509 anna.verschik@tlu.ee +372 6409 348
Reili Argus Professor of Estonian Language S-556 reili.argus@tlu.ee +372 640 9319
Piret Viires Distinguished Professor of Estonian Literature and Literary Theory S-551 piret.viires@tlu.ee +372 6409 339
Luule Epner Associate Professor of Estonian Literature S-542A luule.epner@tlu.ee +372 640 9336
Ave Mattheus Associate Professor of Estonian Literature S-522 ave.mattheus@tlu.ee +372 6409374
Tiina Rüütmaa Associate Professor of Estonian as a Second Language S-501 tiina.ruutmaa@tlu.ee +372 640 9313
Annika Hussar Lecturer of Estonian Language S-556 annika.hussar@tlu.ee +372 640 9319
Joosep Susi Junior Lecturer of Literature didactics and Estonian Literature S-548 joosep.susi@tlu.ee
Ele Arder Teacher of Estonian as a Second Language S-501 ele.arder@tlu.ee
Annika Bauer Teacher of Estonian as a Second Language S-502 annika.bauer@tlu.ee +372 640 9307
Hiie Rüütel Teacher of Estonian as a Second Language S-502 hiie.ruutel@tlu.ee
Epp Annus Associate Professor S-551 epp.annus@tlu.ee
Piret Baird Junior Research Fellow piret.baird@tlu.ee
Merle Oguz Junior Research Fellow S-505 merle.oguz@tlu.ee
Mai Raet Junior Research Fellow mai.raet@tlu.ee
Andra Kütt-Leedis Lecturer of Estonian Language S-502 andra.kutt@tlu.ee
Jari Pärgma Junior Research Fellow jari.pargma@tlu.ee
Geidi Kilp Visiting Research Fellow
Katarin Leppik Junior Research Fellow katarin.leppik@tlu.ee
Liina Lutsepp Junior Research Fellow
Helin Kask Research Fellow
Loviisa Mänd Junior Research Fellow loviisa.mand@tlu.ee
Sandra Sainio Teacher of Estonian as a Second Language
Olga Gerassimenko Visiting Research Fellow
Kristiina Bernhardt Junior Lecturer of Estonian as a Second Language Didactics S-501 kristiina.bernhardt@tlu.ee
Péter Zalan Romanek Visiting Research Fellow S-508 peter.romanek@tlu.ee
Merit Hallap Research Fellow
Study Area: Cultural Theory
Name Profession Room E-mail Phone no.
Tauri Tuvikene Professor of Urban Studies M-345 tauri.tuvikene@tlu.ee +372 619 9539
Liisi Keedus Professor of Political Philosophy S-510 liisi.keedus@tlu.ee
Eneken Laanes Professor of Comparative Literature S-504 eneken.laanes@tlu.ee +372 619 9551
Hannes Palang Professor of Human Geography M-352, M-352 hannes.palang@tlu.ee +372 619 9557
Igor Pilshchikov Research Professor of Semiotics of Culture and Russian Literature M-310 igor.pilshchikov@tlu.ee +372 619 9561
Marek Tamm Professor of Cultural History M-316, M-316 marek.tamm@tlu.ee
Carlo Cubero Irizarry Associate Professor of Social and Cultural Anthropology M-314 carlo.cubero@tlu.ee +372 619 9537
Eeva Kesküla Associate Professor of Social and Cultural Anthropology M-350 eeva.keskula@tlu.ee
Jaan Lahe Associate Professor of Culture and Religious Studies M-307 jaan.lahe_01@tlu.ee +372 619 9543
Margus Vihalem Associate Professor of Philosophy M-321 margus.vihalem@tlu.ee +372 640 9324
Tõnis Kahu Lecturer M-307 tonis.kahu@tlu.ee
Lauri Linask Lecturer of Cultural Theory S-547 Lauri.Linask@tlu.ee +372 6199 559
Oliver Laas Junior Lecturer of Philosophy S-547 oliver.laas@tlu.ee
Joonas Plaan Lecturer of Anthropology M-314 joonas.plaan@tlu.ee +372 619 9537
Margus Ott Research Fellow S-547 margus.ott@tlu.ee
Emilia Diana Popa Visiting Research Fellow S-511 diana.popa@tlu.ee +372 619 9571
Mikhail Trunin Research Fellow M-310 mikhail.trunin@tlu.ee
Andres Karjus Research Fellow in Cultural Data Analytics andres.karjus@tlu.ee
Mila Oiva Research Fellow in Cultural Data Analytics mila.oiva@tlu.ee
Jekaterina Maadla Junior Research Fellow S-542A jekaterina.maadla@tlu.ee
Sara Arumetsa Junior Research Fellow sara.arumetsa@tlu.ee
Yan Asadchy Junior Research Fellow yan.asadchy@tlu.ee
Hanna Maria Aunin Junior Research Fellow S-552 hanna_maria.aunin@tlu.ee
Teisi Ligi Junior Research Fellow teisi.ligi@tlu.ee
Mark Mets Junior Research Fellow mark.mets@tlu.ee
Ksenia Shmydkaya Research Fellow S-507 ksenia.shmydkaya@tlu.ee
Bernadette Šcasna Junior Research Fellow S-552 bernadette.scasna@tlu.ee
Marje Ermel Lecturer of Anthropology marje.ermel@tlu.ee
Margaret Tali Associate Professor S-511 margaret.tali@tlu.ee
Tanya Elena Fernandez Escudero Research Fellow S-522 tanya.escudero@tlu.ee +372 640 9310
Pierangelly Del Rio Martinez Junior Research Fellow pierangelly.martinez@tlu.ee
Martin Aidnik Research Fellow
Johanna Ross Research Fellow johanna.ross@tlu.ee
Polina Vlasenko Research Fellow A-306 polina.vlasenko@tlu.ee
Rita Niineste Junior Research Fellow rita.niineste@tlu.ee
Krister Kruusmaa Visiting Lecturer
Õnne Kask Junior Research Fellow M-356 onne.kask@tlu.ee
Tommaso Giordani Visiting Research Fellow tommaso.giordani@tlu.ee
Valentyna Kharkhun Visiting Research Fellow
Kevin Rändi Junior Research Fellow kevin.randi@tlu.ee
Juhan Hellerma Research Fellow juhan.hellerma@tlu.ee
Study Area: Western European Studies
Name Profession Room E-mail Phone no.
Mari Uusküla Associate Professor of Linguistics and Translation Theory S-505 mari.uuskula@tlu.ee +372 640 9385
Daniele Monticelli Professor of Semiotics and Translation Studies S-525 daniele.monticelli@tlu.ee +372 619 9547
Ene Alas Associate Professor of English Language and Testing S-546 ene.alas@tlu.ee +372 640 9321
Aigi Heero Associate Professor of German and Didactics S-426 aigi.heero@tlu.ee +372 640 9359
Julia Kuznetski Professor of English S-553 julia.kuznetski@tlu.ee +372 640 9320
Anne Lange Associate Professor of Translation Studies S-505 anne.lange@tlu.ee +372 640 9374
Aleksandra Ljalikova Associate Professor of French Didactics S-524A aleksandra.ljalikova@tlu.ee +372 640 9325
Merilyn Meristo Associate Professor of French S-546 merilyn.meristo@tlu.ee +372 640 9303
Ülar Ploom Associate Professor of Italian Literature S-522A ular.ploom@tlu.ee +372 55 641 629
Kristiina Rebane Associate Professor S-523 kristiina.rebane@tlu.ee +372 6409 326
Maris Saagpakk Associate Professor of German Cultural History and Literature S-426 maris.saagpakk@tlu.ee +372 640 9359
Merilin Kotta Lecturer of Spanish Culture S-525A merilin.kotta@tlu.ee
Miriam Anne McIlfatrick-Ksenofontov Lecturer of English Language and English Language Literatures S-524 miriam_anne.mcilfatrick-ksenofontov@tlu.ee +372 640 9544
Juan Carlos Monroy Perez Lecturer of Spanish S-527 carlos.monroy@tlu.ee
Paul Rüsse Teacher of American Literature and English S-427 paul.russe@tlu.ee +372 640 9328
Ülo Siirak Lecturer of Romance Studies S-523 ulo.siirak@tlu.ee +372 640 9326
Kaia Sisask Associate Professor S-523 kaia.sisask@tlu.ee +372 640 9326
Triin Van Doorslaer Lecturer of Translation S-505 triin.van_doorslaer@tlu.ee
Ana Sofia Chermont de Magalhaes Teacher of Portuguese S-527 ana_sofia.magalhaes@tlu.ee
Mercedes Contreras Lopatina Teacher of English S-402 anna_mercedes.contreras@tlu.ee
Jekaterina Maadla Teacher of Interpreting S-542A jekaterina.maadla@tlu.ee
Aita Taiger Teacher of English S-402 aita.taiger@tlu.ee
Kristiina Tedremaa-Levorato Teacher of Swedish S-402 kristiina.tedremaa@tlu.ee +372 6409 306
Karola Velberg Teacher of Finnish S-424 karola.velberg@tlu.ee
Clara del Rey Visiting Lecturer of Spanish language and culture S-525A clara.del_rey@tlu.ee
Paolo Schimmenti Teacher of Italian S-523 paolo.schimmenti@tlu.ee
Merje Kuusk Teacher of English S-524 merje.kuusk@tlu.ee
Iveta Aare Junior Research Fellow iveta.aare@tlu.ee
Piret Pärgma Junior Research Fellow piret.pargma@tlu.ee
Alpo Seppo Santeri Honkapohja Lecturer of English S-553 alpo_seppo_santeri.honkapohja@tlu.ee
Helis Camara Teacher of English S-402 helis.camara@tlu.ee
Study Area: Russian and East European Studies
Name Profession Room E-mail Phone no.
Grigori Utgof Associate Professor of Russian Literature and Literary Theory S-331 grigori.utgof@tlu.ee +372 640 9331
Kapitolina Fedorova Professor of Russian Studies S-330 kapitolina.fedorova@tlu.ee
Natalia Tšuikina Associate Professor of Russian S-330 natalia.tshuikina@tlu.ee +372 640 9330
Inna Adamson Associate Professor of Comparative Linguistics and Lexicology S-330 inna.adamson@tlu.ee +372 640 9330
Sergei Dotsenko Associate Professor of Russian Literature and Folklore S-331 sergei.dotsenko@tlu.ee +372 640 9331
Irina Moissejenko Associate Professor of Russian Language Didactics S-330 irina.moissejenko@tlu.ee +372 640 9330
Boriss Baljasnõi Lecturer of Translation Theory and Practice S-331 boriss.baljasnoi@tlu.ee +372 640 9331
Jelena Raudla Teacher of Russian S-330 jelena.raudla@tlu.ee +372 640 9330
Natalija Sindetskaja Teacher of Polish S-330 Natalia.Sindetskaja@tlu.ee
Tatjana Kuzovkina Associate Professor M-310 tatjana.kuzovkina@tlu.ee +372 55 640 987
Iryna Peterson Junior Research Fellow
Ekaterina Batrakova Junior Lecturer S-330 ekaterina.batrakova@tlu.ee
Ilenia Del Popolo Marchitto Junior Research Fellow
Mariia Ivanova Junior Research Fellow
Institute of History, Archaeology and Art History
Name Profession Room E-mail Phone no.
Marek Tamm Head M-316, M-316 marek.tamm@tlu.ee
Aet Annist Associate Professor aet.annist@tlu.ee
Magnus Ilmjärv Associate Professor M-402 magnus.ilmjarv@tlu.ee +372 619 9532
Inna Jürjo Associate Professor M-410 inna.jurjo@tlu.ee
Villu Kadakas Associate Professor M-411 villu.kadakas@tlu.ee +372 619 9541
Tiina Kala Associate Professor M-417 tiina.kala.01@tlu.ee
Linda Kaljundi Associate Professor M-415 linda.kaljundi@tlu.ee
Juhan Kreem Associate Professor M-417 juhan.kreem@tlu.ee
Ivar Leimus Associate Professor M-417 ivar.leimus@tlu.ee
Marika Mägi Associate Professor M-410 marika.magi.01@tlu.ee
Anu Mänd Associate Professor M-415 anu.mand@tlu.ee
Priit Raudkivi Senior Research Fellow M-416 priit.raudkivi@tlu.ee +372 619 9528
Atko-Sulhan Remmel Associate Professor atko-sulhan.remmel@tlu.ee
Jaan Undusk Associate Professor M-417 jaan.undusk@tlu.ee
Timur Guzairov Research Fellow
Tõnno Jonuks Research Fellow M-417 tonno.jonuks@tlu.ee
Ulla Kadakas Research Fellow ulla.kadakas@tlu.ee
Kati Lindström Research Fellow M-417 kati.lindstrom@tlu.ee
Kristo Nurmis Research Fellow M-402 kristo.nurmis@tlu.ee
Hembo Pagi Research Fellow M-411 hembo.pagi@tlu.ee
Aivar Põldvee Research Fellow M-417 aivar.poldvee@tlu.ee
Heli Reimann Research Fellow M-417 heli.reimann@tlu.ee
Elle-Mari Talivee Research Fellow M-417 elle-mari.talivee@tlu.ee
Kadri Tüür Research Fellow M-417 kadri.tuur@tlu.ee
Ruta Bruževica Junior Research Fellow ruta.bruzevica@tlu.ee
Karl Hein Junior Research Fellow karl.hein@tlu.ee
Piia Sandra Sandrak Junior Research Fellow M-411 piia_sandra.sandrak@tlu.ee
Airi Uuna Junior Research Fellow S-522 airi.uuna@tlu.ee
Kaspar Kolk Visiting Research Fellow kaspar.kolk@tlulib.ee
Maris Niinesalu-Moon Visiting Research Fellow
Karin Rannaäär Research Project Secretary
Centre for Landscape and Culture
Name Profession Room E-mail Phone no.
Tauri Tuvikene Professor of Urban Studies M-345 tauri.tuvikene@tlu.ee +372 619 9539
Hannes Palang Head M-352, M-352 hannes.palang@tlu.ee +372 619 9557
Marju Kõivupuu Associate Professor M-351 marju.koivupuu@tlu.ee +372 619 9573
Tarmo Pikner Associate Professor M-344 tarmo.pikner@tlu.ee +372 619 9560
Raili Nugin Associate Professor M-350 raili.nugin@tlu.ee +372 619 9571
Anu Printsmann Research Fellow M-345 anu.printsmann@tlu.ee +372 619 9539
Aleksandra Ianchenko Junior Research Fellow M-356 aleksandra.ianchenko@tlu.ee
Saara Hanna Mildeberg Junior Research Fellow M-356 saara_hanna.mildeberg@tlu.ee
Louise Sophie Sträuli Junior Research Fellow M-356 louise.strauli@tlu.ee
Tuuli Kurisoo Research Fellow M-356 tuuli.kurisoo@tlu.ee
John Allen Buchanan Research Fellow A-306 john_allen.buchanan@tlu.ee
Djahane Ambrine Zair Project Communication Specialist M-330 djahane_ambrine.zair@tlu.ee
Kadri Kasemets Research Fellow M-350 kadri.kasemets@tlu.ee
Chun Sing Ng Junior Research Fellow chun_sing.ng@tlu.ee
Prince Tomar Junior Research Fellow M-344 prince.tomar@tlu.ee
Mart Reimann Research Fellow
Emeriti
Name Profession Room E-mail Phone no.
Tiina Aunin Professor Emeritus tiina.aunin@tlu.ee
Irina Belobrovtseva Professor Emeritus S-331A irina.belobrovtseva@tlu.ee +372 640 9332
Mati Graf Professor Emeritus mati.graf@tlu.ee
Anu-Reet Hausenberg Professor Emeritus S-241 anu-reet.hausenberg@tlu.ee
Otto Jastrow Professor Emeritus otto.jastrow@tlu.ee
Krista Kerge Professor Emeritus krista.kerge@tlu.ee
Pille Kippar Professor Emeritus pille.kippar@tlu.ee
Mihhail Lotman Professor Emeritus M-315 mihhail.lotman@gmail.com +372 619 9548
Rein Veidemann Professor Emeritus S-241 rein.veidemann@tlu.ee
Jüri Viikberg Associate Professor Emeritus S-556 juri.viikberg@tlu.ee
Peep Nemvalts Research Fellow Emeritus
Suliko Liiv Professor Emeritus S-553 suliko.liiv@tlu.ee
Natalja Netšunajeva Associate Professor Emeritus S-330 natalja.netsunajeva@tlu.ee

Visiting Lecturers, Professor and Researchers

Name Profession Phone no. Room E-mail
Jaakko Raunamaa Finnish Language Teacher     jaakko.raunamaa@tlu.ee
Christian Rathmann Visiting Professor   S-508 christian.rathmann@tlu.ee

Language Teachers 2023 Autumn

Nimi                              Ruum E-post                                
English    
Jelena Kallonen S-419 jelena.kallonen@tlu.ee

Tatjana Mette

S-419 tatjana.mette@tlu.ee
Kevin Patrick Molloy S-419 kevin.molloy@tlu.ee
Amitié Lee S-419 amitie.lee@tlu.ee
Liljana Skopinskaja S-419 liljana.skopinskaja@tlu.ee

Yana Sinitsyna

S-419

yana.sinitsyna@tlu.ee

Dawit Hailu S-419 dawit.hailu@tlu.ee

Henry John Mead

S-507

henry.mead@tlu.ee

Mehrdad Rashtchi S-419 mehrdad.rashtchi@tlu.ee
Elena Samsonova S-419 elena.samsonova@tlu.ee
Silvia Kurr S-419 silvia.kurr@tlu.ee
German    
Tiina Tammik S-419

tiina.tammik@tlu.ee

Turkish

   
Burcu Çildir M-330 burcu.cildir@tlu.ee