People

Office
Name Profession Room E-mail Phone no.
Tõnu Viik Director S-552 tonu.viik@tlu.ee +372 619 9558
Riina Trofimova Administrative Assistant S-555 riina.trofimova@tlu.ee +372 619 9555
Siiri Soidro Head of Studies S-407 siiri.soidro@tlu.ee +372 640 9308
Kristel Toom Research Coordinator M-343 kristel.toom@tlu.ee +372 619 9535
Aigi Heero Administrative Head S-555 aigi.heero@tlu.ee +372 640 9324
Maris Peters Internationalisation Coordinator S-408 maris.peters@tlu.ee +372 640 9344
Helina Puksmann Study Counsellor S-409 helina.puksmann@tlu.ee +372 640 9312
Signe Steinpilm Study Counsellor S-409 signe.steinpilm@tlu.ee +372 640 9376
Jana Lehtsalu Study Specialist S-406 jana.lehtsalu@tlu.ee +372 640 9323
Kristiina Ranne Study Specialist S-406 kristiina.ranne@tlu.ee +372 640 9309
Alissa Ivanova Study Secretary A-435 alissa.ivanova@tlu.ee +372 6409 126
Heli Hiieleek Financial Manager S-554, S-554 heli.hiieleek@tlu.ee +372 640 9256
Liina Lepik Research Assistant M-343 liina.lepik_01@tlu.ee +372 619 9574
Kristiina Sirkel Research Assistant M-343 kristiina.sirkel@tlu.ee +372 619 9575
Doris-Marii Maxwell Communication Assistant S-506 doris-marii.maxwell@tlu.ee +372 6409 358
Elina Tahvel Training Manager S-427 elina.tahvel@tlu.ee +372 640 9289
Study Area: Asian Studies
Name Profession Room E-mail Phone no.
Karin Dean Associate Professor in South-East Asian Studies M-311, M-311 karin.dean@tlu.ee +372 619 9545
Otto Jastrow Professor of Arabic Language and Culture M-318 otto.jastrow@tlu.ee +372 619 9538
Rein Raud Professor of Asian Studies rein.raud@tlu.ee
Alexander Horstmann Associate Professor in South-East Asian Studies M-305 alexander.horstmann@tlu.ee +372 619 9542
Alari Allik Lecturer M-319 alari.allik@tlu.ee
Maret Nukke Lecturer M-313 maret.nukke@tlu.ee +372 619 9546
Margit Juurikas Teacher of Japanese M-313 margit.juurikas@tlu.ee +372 619 9546
Akiko Masaki (Kadarik) Teacher of Japanese M-313 akiko.masaki@tlu.ee +372 619 9546
Frank Jüris Visiting Lecturer of Chinese Studies frank.juris@tlu.ee
Triinu Ossinovski Early-Stage Researcher in Intercultural Studies S-522 triinu.ossinovski@tlu.ee
Study Area: History
Name Profession Room E-mail Phone no.
Ulrike Plath Professor of Baltic-German studies and environment history M-409 ulrike.plath@tlu.ee +372 6199 525
Karsten Brüggemann Professor of Estonian and General History M-404, M-404 karsten.bruggemann@tlu.ee +372 6199 534
Kersti Markus Professor of Art History M-323, M-323 kersti.markus@tlu.ee +372 619 9556
Linda Kaljundi Associate Professor M-415, M-415 linda.kaljundi@tlu.ee
Kaarel Vanamölder Associate Professor of the History of Communication and Applied History M-409, M-409 kaarel.vanamolder@tlu.ee
Uku Lember Lecturer of General History M-309, M-309 uku.lember@tlu.ee +372 619 9530
Mare Oja Lecturer of History Didactics M-322 mare.oja@tlu.ee +372 6199536
Heli Reimann Research Fellow in Intercultural Studies S-510 heli.reimann@tlu.ee
Maarja Merivoo-Parro Early-Stage Researcher in Intercultural Studies M-309 maarja.merivoo-parro@tlu.ee
Airi Uuna Early-Stage Researcher in Intercultural Studies S-522 airi.uuna@tlu.ee
Study Area: Estonian Language and Culture
Name Profession Room E-mail Phone no.
Reili Argus Professor of Estonian S-556 reili.argus@tlu.ee +372 640 9319
Krista Kerge Professor of Applied Linguistics S-548 krista.kerge@tlu.ee +372 640 9318
Anna Verschik Professor of General Linguistics S-509 anna.verschik@tlu.ee +372 6409 348
Piret Viires Professor of Estonian Literature and Literary Theory S-551 piret.viires@tlu.ee +372 6409 339
Luule Epner Associate Professor of Estonian Literature S-541 luule.epner@tlu.ee +372 640 9336
Marju Kõivupuu Associate Professor of Associate Professor of Traditional Culture M-351, M-351 marju.koivupuu@tlu.ee +372 619 9573
Ave Mattheus Associate Professor of Comparative Literature S-504 ave.mattheus@tlu.ee +372 6409374
Merilin Aruvee Lecturer of L1 Didactics and Applied Linguistics S-548 merilin.aruvee@tlu.ee +372 640 9318
Annika Hussar Lecturer of Estonian and Name Planning S-556 annika.hussar@tlu.ee +372 640 9319
Ingrid Krall Lecturer of Practical Estonian S-502 ingrid.krall@tlu.ee +372 640 9307
Anneli Kõvamees Lecturer of Estonian Literature S-541, S-541 anneli.kovamees@tlu.ee +372 640 9310
Tiina Rüütmaa Lecturer of Estonian as a Second Language S-501 tiina.ruutmaa@tlu.ee +372 640 9313
Annika Bauer Teacher of Estonian as a Second Language S-502 annika.bauer@tlu.ee +372 640 9307
Peep Nemvalts Senior Research Fellow S-509 peep.nemvalts@tlu.ee +372 6409 337
Helin Kask Early-Stage Researcher in Intercultural Studies helin.kask@tlu.ee
Jaan Undusk Visiting Professor jaan.undusk@tlu.ee
Study Area: Cultural Theory
Name Profession Room E-mail Phone no.
Margus Vihalem Associate Professor of Philosophy M-356 margus.vihalem@tlu.ee +372 619 9559
Liisi Keedus Professor of Political Philosophy S-510 liisi.keedus@tlu.ee +372 6409 343
Mihhail Lotman Professor of Literary Theory and Semiotics M-315 mihhail.lotman@tlu.ee +372 619 9548
Hannes Palang Professor of Human Geography M-352, M-352 hannes.palang@tlu.ee +372 619 9557
Marek Tamm Professor of Cultural History M-316, M-316 marek.tamm@tlu.ee
Carlo Cubero Irizarry Associate Professor of Social and Cultural Anthropology M-314 carlo.cubero@tlu.ee +372 619 9537
Eneken Laanes Associate Professor of Comperative Literary Science and Culture Analysis M-319 eneken.laanes@tlu.ee +372 619 9551
Jaan Lahe Associate Professor of Culture and Religious Studies M-307 jaan.lahe_01@tlu.ee +372 619 9543
Marje Ermel Lecturer of Anthropology M-314 marje.ermel@tlu.ee +372 619 9537
Tõnis Kahu Lecturer M-307 tonis.kahu@tlu.ee
Andres Luure Lecturer of Philosophy M-356 andres.luure@tlu.ee +372 619 9559
Joonas Plaan Lecturer of Anthropology M-314 joonas.plaan@tlu.ee +372 619 9537
Oliver Laas Visiting Lecturer of Philosophy M-356 oliver.laas@tlu.ee
Tatjana Kuzovkina Senior Research Fellow M-310 tatjana.kuzovkina@tlu.ee +372 619 9561
Kalle Antero Pihlainen Senior Research Fellow kalle.pihlainen@tlu.ee
Igor Pilshchikov Senior Research Fellow M-310 igor.pilshchikov@tlu.ee +372 619 9561
Tommaso Giordani Research Fellow S-507 tommaso.giordani@tlu.ee
Henry John Mead Research Fellow S-507 henry.mead@tlu.ee
Piret Peiker Research Fellow S-507 piret.peiker@tlu.ee
Gustavs Strenga Research Fellow S-508 gustavs.strenga@tlu.ee
Mikhail Trunin Research Fellow M-310 michael.trunin@tlu.ee
Johannes Walter Benjamin Bent Early-Stage Researcher S-508 johannes_walter_benjamin.bent@tlu.ee
Ksenia Shmydkaya Early-Stage Researcher S-508 ksenia.shmydkaya@tlu.ee
Study Area: Western European Studies
Name Profession Room E-mail Phone no.
Maris Saagpakk Associate Professor S-426 maris.saagpakk@tlu.ee +372 640 9359
Suliko Liiv Professor of English S-553 suliko.liiv@tlu.ee +372 640 9320
Daniele Monticelli Professor S-525 daniele.monticelli@tlu.ee +372 619 9547
Ene Alas Associate Professor of English Language Testing S-511 ene.alas@tlu.ee +372 640 9321
Merle Jung Associate Professor of German Didactics and Linguistics S-426 merle.jung@tlu.ee +372 640 9359
Annekatrin Kaivapalu Associate Professor of Finnish S-547 annekatrin.kaivapalu@tlu.ee
Anne Lange Associate Professor of Translation Studies S-504 anne.lange@tlu.ee +372 640 9374
Aleksandra Ljalikova Associate Professor of French Didactics S-524A aleksandra.ljalikova@tlu.ee +372 640 9325
Ülar Ploom Associate Professor of Italian Literature S-522A ular.ploom@tlu.ee +372 55 641 629
Merike Ristikivi Associate Professor S-419 merike.ristikivi@tlu.ee +372 640 9322
Liljana Skopinskaja Associate Professor of English Didactics S-511 liljana.skopinskaja@tlu.ee +372 640 9321
Julia Tofantšuk Associate Professor of British Literature S-553 julia.tofantshuk@tlu.ee +372 640 9320
Mari Uusküla Associate Professor of Linguistics and Translation Theory S-505 mari.uuskula@tlu.ee +372 640 9385
Andine Friederike Frick Lecturer of German S-426 andine_friederike.frick@tlu.ee +372 640 9359
Maria-Magdalena Jürvetson Lecturer of Finnish S-547 maria-magdalena.jurvetson@tlu.ee +372 640 9345
Õie Kirs Lecturer of German S-402 oie.kirs@tlu.ee +372 6409 306
Merilin Kotta Lecturer of Spanish Culture S-525A merilin.kotta@tlu.ee
Miriam Anne McIlfatrick-Ksenofontov Lecturer of English Language and English Language Literatures S-524 miriam_anne.mcilfatrick-ksenofontov@tlu.ee +372 640 9544
Merilyn Meristo Lecturer of French S-546 merilyn.meristo@tlu.ee +372 640 9303
Juan Carlos Monroy Perez Lecturer of Spanish carlos.monroy@tlu.ee
Kristiina Rebane Lecturer S-523 kristiina.rebane@tlu.ee +372 6409 326
Paul Rüsse Lecturer of American Literature S-419 paul.russe@tlu.ee +372 640 9328
Ülo Siirak Lecturer of Romance Studies S-523 ulo.siirak@tlu.ee +372 640 9326
Kaia Sisask Lecturer S-523 kaia.sisask@tlu.ee +372 640 9326
Ana Sofia Chermont de Magalhaes Teacher of Portuguese ana_sofia.magalhaes@tlu.ee
Lauri Elango Teacher of Interpreting of English and German S-542A lauri.elango@tlu.ee
Jekaterina Maadla Teacher of Interpreting jekaterina.maadla@tlu.ee
Kateryn Rannu Teacher of French Language and Culture Didactics kateryn.rannu@tlu.ee
Aleksandr Romenski Teacher of English S-402 aleksandr.romenski@tlu.ee +372 640 9305
Aita Taiger Teacher of English S-402 aita.taiger@tlu.ee +372 640 9305
Kristiina Tedremaa-Levorato Research Fellow S-402 kristiina.tedremaa@tlu.ee +372 6409 306
Ketlin Ruukel-Ikkonen Coordinator of the Interpreting Curriculum ketlin.ruukel-ikkonen@tlu.ee
Federico Escudero Alvarez Visiting Lecturer of Spanish language and culture S-525A federico.escudero_alvarez@tlu.ee
Miriam Rossi Early-Stage Researcher S-522 miriam.rossi@tlu.ee
Study Area: Russian and East European Studies
Name Profession Room E-mail Phone no.
Natalia Tšuikina Lecturer of Russian S-330 natalia.tshuikina@tlu.ee +372 640 9330
Irina Belobrovtseva Professor of Russian Literature, Senior Research Fellow S-331A irina.belobrovtseva@tlu.ee +372 640 9332
Sergei Dotsenko Associate Professor of Russian Literature and Folklore S-331 sergei.dotsenko@tlu.ee +372 640 9331
Aurika Meimre Associate Professor of Russian Culture, Senior Research Fellow S-331A aurika.meimre@tlu.ee +372 640 9332
Irina Moissejenko Associate Professor of Russian Language Didactics S-330 irina.moissejenko@tlu.ee +372 640 9330
Natalja Netšunajeva Associate Professor of the History of the Russian Language S-330 natalja.netsunajeva@tlu.ee +372 640 9330
Inna Adamson Lecturer of Comparative Linguistics and Lexicology S-330 inna.adamson@tlu.ee +372 640 9330
Boriss Baljasnõi Lecturer of Translation Theory and Practice S-331 boriss.baljasnoi@tlu.ee +372 640 9331
Vitali Belobrovtsev Lecturer S-331 vitali.belobrovtsev@tlu.ee + 372 6409 331
Grigori Utgof Lecturer of Russian Literature and Literary Theory S-331 grigori.utgof@tlu.ee +372 640 9331
Jelena Raudla Teacher of Russian S-330 jelena.raudla@tlu.ee +372 640 9301
Alexander Danilevskiy Senior Research Fellow S-331 alexander.danilevskiy@tlu.ee +372 640 9331
Anneli Mihkelev Senior Research Fellow S-541 anneli.mihkelev@tlu.ee +372 640 9336
Galina Ponomarjova Senior Research Fellow S-331 galina.ponomarjova@tlu.ee +372 640 9331
Anneli Kõvamees Senior Research Fellow S-541, S-541 anneli.kovamees@tlu.ee +372 640 9310
Darja Dorving Early-Stage Researcher in Intercultural Studies darja.dorving@tlu.ee
Denis Kuzmin Early-Stage Researcher S-330 denis.kuzmin@tlu.ee
Institute of History, Archaeology and Art History
Name Profession Room E-mail Phone no.
Anu Mänd Senior Research Fellow, Head M-415 anu.mand@tlu.ee
Karsten Brüggemann Senior Research Fellow M-404, M-404 karsten.bruggemann@tlu.ee +372 6199 534
Kersti Markus Senior Research Fellow M-323, M-323 kersti.markus@tlu.ee +372 619 9556
Ants Hein Senior Research Fellow M-417 ants.hein@tlu.ee
Magnus Ilmjärv Senior Research Fellow M-402 magnus.ilmjarv@tlu.ee +372 619 9532
Linda Kaljundi Research Fellow M-415, M-415 linda.kaljundi@tlu.ee
Aivar Jürgenson Senior Research Fellow M-402 aivar.jurgenson@tlu.ee
Marek Tamm Senior Research Fellow M-316, M-316 marek.tamm@tlu.ee
Kaarel Vanamölder Research Fellow M-409, M-409 kaarel.vanamolder@tlu.ee
Inna Jürjo Senior Research Fellow M-410 inna.jurjo@tlu.ee
Uku Lember Research Fellow M-309, M-309 uku.lember@tlu.ee +372 619 9530
Tiina Kala Senior Research Fellow M-417 tiina.kala.01@tlu.ee
Toomas Karjahärm Senior Research Fellow M-417 toomas.karjaharm@tlu.ee
Krista Kodres Senior Research Fellow M-323 krista.kodres@tlu.ee
Juhan Kreem Senior Research Fellow M-417 juhan.kreem@tlu.ee
Ivar Leimus Senior Research Fellow M-417 ivar.leimus@tlu.ee
Marika Mägi Senior Research Fellow M-410 marika.magi.01@tlu.ee
Maie Pihlamägi Senior Research Fellow M-407 maie.pihlamagi@tlu.ee +372 619 9526
Aivar Põldvee Senior Research Fellow M-417 aivar.poldvee@tlu.ee
Priit Raudkivi Senior Research Fellow M-416 priit.raudkivi@tlu.ee +372 619 9528
Erki Russow Senior Research Fellow M-411 erki.russow@tlu.ee
Villu Kadakas Research Fellow M-411 villu.kadakas@tlu.ee +372 619 9541
Krister Kruusmaa Research Assistant krister.kruusmaa@tlu.ee
Centre for Landscape and Culture
Name Profession Room E-mail Phone no.
Hannes Palang Head, Research Professor M-352, M-352 hannes.palang@tlu.ee +372 619 9557
Karin Dean Senior Research Fellow M-311, M-311 karin.dean@tlu.ee +372 619 9545
Marju Kõivupuu Senior Research Fellow M-351, M-351 marju.koivupuu@tlu.ee +372 619 9573
Patrick Laviolette Senior Research Fellow patrick.laviolette@tlu.ee
Tarmo Pikner Senior Research Fellow M-344 tarmo.pikner@tlu.ee +372 619 9560
Helen Sooväli-Sepping Senior Research Fellow A-540 helen.soovali@tlu.ee +372 640 9466
Kadri Kasemets Research Fellow M-350 kadri.kasemets@tlu.ee
Raili Nugin Research Fellow M-350 raili.nugin@tlu.ee +372 619 9571
Anu Printsmann Research Fellow M-345 anu.printsmann@tlu.ee +372 619 9539
Tauri Tuvikene Research Fellow M-345 tauri.tuvikene@tlu.ee +372 619 9539
Anni Müüripeal Early-Stage Researcher anni.muuripeal@tlu.ee
Krista Karro Early-Stage Researcher M-350 krista.karro@tlu.ee
Emeriidid
Name Profession Room E-mail Phone no.
Tiina Aunin Professor Emeritus tiina.aunin@tlu.ee
Mati Graf Professor Emeritus mati.graf@tlu.ee
Anu-Reet Hausenberg Professor Emeritus S-241 anu-reet.hausenberg@tlu.ee
Mati Hint Professor Emeritus S-241 mati.hint@tlu.ee + 372 640 9315
Pille Kippar Professor Emeritus pille.kippar@tlu.ee
Viivi Maanso Associate Professor Emeritus viivi.maanso@tlu.ee
Jüri Viikberg Associate Professor Emeritus S-556 juri.viikberg@tlu.ee
Rein Veidemann Professor Emeritus S-241 rein.veidemann@tlu.ee