People

Office
Name Profession Room E-mail Phone no.
Uku Lember Acting Director M-309 uku.lember@tlu.ee +372 619 9530
Leena Sooväli Administrative Assistant S-506 leena.soovali@tlu.ee +372 619 9555
Siiri Soidro Head of Studies S-407 siiri.soidro@tlu.ee +372 640 9308
Terje Kalamees Administrative Head S-503 terje.kalamees@tlu.ee +372 640 9317
Maris Peters Internationalisation Coordinator S-408 maris.peters@tlu.ee +372 640 9344
Helina Puksmann Study Counsellor S-409 helina.puksmann@tlu.ee +372 640 9312
Signe Steinpilm Study Counsellor S-409 signe.steinpilm@tlu.ee +372 640 9376
Eva-Maria Kinkar Study Specialist S-409 eva-maria.kinkar@tlu.ee +372 640 9309
Jana Lehtsalu Study Specialist S-406 jana.lehtsalu@tlu.ee +372 640 9323
Riina Uudemets Assistant A-435 riina.uudemets@tlu.ee +372 6409 126
Heli Hiieleek Financial Manager S-554, S-554 heli.hiieleek@tlu.ee +372 640 9256
Kerstin Liiva Research Coordinator M-343 kerstin.liiva@tlu.ee +372 619 9535
Sirli Taniloo Projects Coordinator M-343 sirli.taniloo@tlu.ee +372 6199 575
Mall Ümarik Projects Coordinator M-343 mall.umarik@tlu.ee +372 6409 353
Merle Villmäe Research Assistant M-343 merle.villmae@tlu.ee +372 6199 574
Ivo Rull Communication Specialist S-506 ivo.rull@tlu.ee +372 6409 335
Elina Tahvel Training Manager S-427 elina.tahvel@tlu.ee +372 640 9289
Study Area: Asian Studies
Name Profession Room E-mail Phone no.
Helen Geršman Lecturer of Middle-Eastern Studies M-318 helen.gersman@tlu.ee +372 6199 538
Rein Raud Professor of Asian Studies rein.raud@tlu.ee
Lisa Indraccolo Professor of Chinese Studies M-305 lisa.indraccolo@tlu.ee +372 619 9562
Maret Nukke Associate Professor M-313 maret.nukke@tlu.ee +372 619 9546
Alessandro Rippa Associate Professor of Chinese Studies M-305 alessandro.rippa@tlu.ee
Alari Allik Lecturer M-319 alari.allik@tlu.ee
Üllar Peterson Junior Lecturer of Middle-Eastern Studies M-330 ullar.peterson@tlu.ee
Margit Juurikas Teacher of Japanese M-313 margit.juurikas@tlu.ee +372 619 9546
Akiko Masaki(Kadarik) Teacher of Japanese M-313 akiko.masaki@tlu.ee +372 619 9546
Alice Vijard Teacher of Arabic Language M-330 Alice.Vijard@tlu.ee
Karin Dean Associate Professor M-311 karin.dean@tlu.ee +372 619 9545
Sandra Peets Junior Research Fellow M-330 sandra.peets@tlu.ee
Jekaterina Koort Visiting Lecturer M-313 jekaterina.koort@tlu.ee
Jeong Im Kim Study Assistant S-334 jeongim.kim@tlu.ee +372 6409 338
Study Area: History
Name Profession Room E-mail Phone no.
Kaarel Vanamölder Associate Professor of the History of Communication and Applied History M-409 kaarel.vanamolder@tlu.ee
Karsten Brüggemann Professor of Estonian and General History M-404, M-404 karsten.bruggemann@tlu.ee +372 6199 534
Kersti Markus Professor of Art History M-323 kersti.markus@tlu.ee +372 619 9556
Ulrike Plath Professor of Baltic-German studies and environment history M-409 ulrike.plath@tlu.ee +372 6199 525
Tiiu Kreegipuu Lecturer of History and History Didactics M-309 tiiu.kreegipuu@tlu.ee
Mare Oja Lecturer of History and History Didactics M-322 mare.oja@tlu.ee +372 6199536
Tuuli Kurisoo Research Fellow M-356 tuuli.kurisoo@tlu.ee
Lembi Anepaio Junior Research Fellow lembi.anepaio@tlu.ee
James Montgomery Baxenfield Junior Research Fellow james_montgomery.baxenfield@tlu.ee
Heidi Rifk Junior Research Fellow heidi.rifk@tlu.ee
Study Area: Estonian Language and Culture
Name Profession Room E-mail Phone no.
Reili Argus Professor of Estonian Language S-556 reili.argus@tlu.ee +372 640 9319
Anna Verschik Distinguished Professor of General Linguistics S-509 anna.verschik@tlu.ee +372 6409 348
Piret Viires Professor of Estonian Literature and Literary Theory S-551 piret.viires@tlu.ee +372 6409 339
Luule Epner Associate Professor of Estonian Literature S-541 luule.epner@tlu.ee +372 640 9336
Ave Mattheus Associate Professor of Estonian Literature S-541 ave.mattheus@tlu.ee +372 6409374
Merilin Aruvee Lecturer of L1 Didactics and Applied Linguistics S-548 merilin.aruvee@tlu.ee +372 640 9318
Helen Hint Lecturer of Linguistics S-541 helen.hint@tlu.ee
Annika Hussar Lecturer of Estonian Language S-556 annika.hussar@tlu.ee +372 640 9319
Helin Kask Lecturer of Applied Linguistics S-502 helin.kask@tlu.ee
Ingrid Krall Lecturer of Practical Estonian S-502 ingrid.krall@tlu.ee +372 640 9307
Tiina Rüütmaa Lecturer of Estonian as a Second Language S-501 tiina.ruutmaa@tlu.ee +372 640 9313
Annika Viht Lecturer of Estonian Language annika.viht@tlu.ee
Joosep Susi Junior Lecturer of Literature didactics and Estonian Literature S-548 joosep.susi@tlu.ee
Annika Bauer Teacher of Estonian as a Second Language S-502 annika.bauer@tlu.ee +372 640 9307
Hiie Rüütel Teacher of Estonian as a Second Language hiie.ruutel@tlu.ee
Epp Annus Associate Professor S-551 epp.annus@tlu.ee
Peep Nemvalts Associate Professor S-509 peep.nemvalts@tlu.ee
Olga Gerassimenko Research Fellow
Geidi Kilp Junior Research Fellow S-541 geidi.kilp@tlu.ee
Andra Kütt Junior Research Fellow S-541 andra.kutt@tlu.ee
Kristiina Bernhardt Visiting Lecturer of Estonian as a Second Language Didactics kristiina.bernhardt@tlu.ee
Merle Oguz Junior Research Fellow merle.oguz@tlu.ee
Agne Strolyte Visiting Research Fellow agne.strolyte@tlu.ee
Piret Baird Junior Research Fellow piret.baird@tlu.ee
Study Area: Cultural Theory
Name Profession Room E-mail Phone no.
Tauri Tuvikene Professor M-345 tauri.tuvikene@tlu.ee +372 619 9539
Liisi Keedus Professor of Political Philosophy S-510 liisi.keedus@tlu.ee
Eneken Laanes Professor of Comparative Literature S-504 eneken.laanes@tlu.ee +372 619 9551
Hannes Palang Professor of Human Geography M-352, M-352 hannes.palang@tlu.ee +372 619 9557
Marek Tamm Professor of Cultural History M-316 marek.tamm@tlu.ee
Carlo Cubero Irizarry Associate Professor of Social and Cultural Anthropology M-314 carlo.cubero@tlu.ee +372 619 9537
Eeva Kesküla Associate Professor of Social and Cultural Anthropology M-350 eeva.keskula@tlu.ee
Jaan Lahe Associate Professor of Culture and Religious Studies M-307 jaan.lahe_01@tlu.ee +372 619 9543
Margus Vihalem Associate Professor of Philosophy S-555 margus.vihalem@tlu.ee +372 640 9324
Tõnis Kahu Lecturer M-307 tonis.kahu@tlu.ee
Lauri Linask Lecturer of Cultural Theory S-547 Lauri.Linask@tlu.ee +372 6199 559
Oliver Laas Junior Lecturer of Philosophy S-547 oliver.laas@tlu.ee
Andres Luure Lecturer of Philosophy S-547 andres.luure@tlu.ee +372 619 9559
Joonas Plaan Lecturer of Anthropology M-314 joonas.plaan@tlu.ee +372 619 9537
Tatjana Kuzovkina Associate Professor M-310 tatjana.kuzovkina@tlu.ee +372 55 640 987
Francisco Martinez Sanchez Associate Professor francisco.martinez@tlu.ee
Igor Pilshchikov Research Professor of Semiotics of Culture and Russian Literature M-310 igor.pilshchikov@tlu.ee +372 619 9561
Margaret Anderson Comer Research Fellow S-511 margaret.comer@tlu.ee +372 619 9572
Henry John Mead Research Fellow S-507 henry.mead@tlu.ee
Margus Ott Research Fellow S-547 margus.ott@tlu.ee
Dorota Anita Pluwak Research Fellow S-511 dorota_anita.pluwak@tlu.ee
Emilia Diana Popa Research Fellow S-511 diana.popa@tlu.ee +372 619 9571
Mikhail Trunin Research Fellow M-310 mikhail.trunin@tlu.ee
Timothy Raymond Anderson Junior Research Fellow S-522 timothy_raymond.anderson@tlu.ee
Yan Asadchy Junior Research Fellow yan.asadchy@tlu.ee
Hanna Maria Aunin Junior Research Fellow S-552 hanna_maria.aunin@tlu.ee
Johannes Walter Benjamin Bent Early-Stage Researcher S-508 johannes_walter_benjamin.bent@tlu.ee
Frank Jüris Early-Stage Researcher M-313 frank.juris@tlu.ee
Kristiine Kikas Junior Research Fellow M-330 kristiine.kikas@tlu.ee
Mari Laan Early-Stage Researcher mari.laan@tlu.ee
Mark Mets Junior Research Fellow mark.mets@tlu.ee
Ksenia Shmydkaya Early-Stage Researcher S-508 ksenia.shmydkaya@tlu.ee
Bernadette Šcasna Junior Research Fellow S-552 bernadette.scasna@tlu.ee
Airi Uuna Junior Research Fellow S-522 airi.uuna@tlu.ee
Andres Karjus Research Fellow in Cultural Data Analytics andres.karjus@tlu.ee
Mila Oiva Research Fellow in Cultural Data Analytics mila.oiva@tlu.ee
Tommaso Giordani Research Fellow S-507 tommaso.giordani@tlu.ee
Dana Karjatse-Davidjants Junior Research Fellow dana.karjatse_davidjants@tlu.ee
Kevin Rändi Junior Research Fellow kevin.randi@tlu.ee
Mari Valdur Visiting Lecturer of Anthropology M-314 mari.valdur@tlu.ee
Piret Peiker Research Fellow piret.peiker@tlu.ee
Teisi Ligi Junior Research Fellow teisi.ligi@tlu.ee
Study Area: Western European Studies
Name Profession Room E-mail Phone no.
Merilyn Meristo Associate Professor of French S-546 merilyn.meristo@tlu.ee +372 640 9303
Suliko Liiv Professor of English S-553 suliko.liiv@tlu.ee +372 640 9320
Daniele Monticelli Professor of Semiotics and Translation Studies S-525 daniele.monticelli@tlu.ee +372 619 9547
Ene Alas Associate Professor of English Language and Testing S-546 ene.alas@tlu.ee +372 640 9321
Aigi Heero Associate Professor of German and Didactics S-426 aigi.heero@tlu.ee +372 640 9359
Julia Kuznetski Associate Professor of British Literature S-553 julia.kuznetski@tlu.ee +372 640 9320
Anne Lange Associate Professor of Translation Studies S-505 anne.lange@tlu.ee +372 640 9374
Aleksandra Ljalikova Associate Professor of French Didactics S-524A aleksandra.ljalikova@tlu.ee +372 640 9325
Ülar Ploom Associate Professor of Italian Literature S-522A ular.ploom@tlu.ee +372 55 641 629
Kristiina Rebane Associate Professor S-523 kristiina.rebane@tlu.ee +372 6409 326
Maris Saagpakk Associate Professor of German Cultural History and Literature S-426 maris.saagpakk@tlu.ee +372 640 9359
Mari Uusküla Associate Professor of Linguistics and Translation Theory S-505 mari.uuskula@tlu.ee +372 640 9385
Merilin Kotta Lecturer of Spanish Culture S-525A merilin.kotta@tlu.ee
Miriam Anne McIlfatrick-Ksenofontov Lecturer of English Language and English Language Literatures S-524 miriam_anne.mcilfatrick-ksenofontov@tlu.ee +372 640 9544
Juan Carlos Monroy Perez Lecturer of Spanish carlos.monroy@tlu.ee
Paul Rüsse Teacher of American Literature S-419 paul.russe@tlu.ee +372 640 9328
Ülo Siirak Lecturer of Romance Studies S-523 ulo.siirak@tlu.ee +372 640 9326
Kaia Sisask Lecturer S-523 kaia.sisask@tlu.ee +372 640 9326
Triin Van Doorslaer Lecturer of Translation S-505 triin.van_doorslaer@tlu.ee
Kateryn Rannu Junior Lecturer of French Language and Culture Didactics S-524A kateryn.rannu@tlu.ee
Rimma Andrejenko Teacher of German S-426 rimma.andrejenko@tlu.ee
Ana Sofia Chermont de Magalhaes Teacher of Portuguese ana_sofia.magalhaes@tlu.ee
Mercedes Contreras Lopatina Teacher of English S-402 anna_mercedes.contreras@tlu.ee
Rita Anita Forssten Teacher of English S-419 rita.forssten@tlu.ee
Francisco Javier Lopez Arias Teacher of English S-402 franciscoj.lopez@tlu.ee
Jekaterina Maadla Teacher of Interpreting S-542A jekaterina.maadla@tlu.ee
Helis Rõuk Teacher of English S-402 helis.rouk@tlu.ee
Aita Taiger Teacher of English S-402 aita.taiger@tlu.ee
Kristiina Tedremaa-Levorato Teacher of Swedish S-402 kristiina.tedremaa@tlu.ee +372 6409 306
Karola Velberg Teacher of Finnish S-501 karola.velberg@tlu.ee
Ramona Daniela Bätz Visiting Lecturer of German S-426 ramona.batz@tlu.ee
Clara del Rey Visiting Lecturer of Spanish language and culture S-525A clara.del_rey@tlu.ee
Ketlin Ruukel-Ikkonen Coordinator of the Interpreting Curriculum S-542A ketlin.ruukel-ikkonen@tlu.ee
Tanya Elena Fernandez Escudero Research Fellow S-541 tanya.escudero@tlu.ee
Study Area: Russian and East European Studies
Name Profession Room E-mail Phone no.
Natalia Tšuikina Associate Professor of Russian S-330 natalia.tshuikina@tlu.ee +372 640 9330
Kapitolina Fedorova Professor of Russian Studies S-330 kapitolina.fedorova@tlu.ee
Inna Adamson Associate Professor of Comparative Linguistics and Lexicology S-330 inna.adamson@tlu.ee +372 640 9330
Sergei Dotsenko Associate Professor of Russian Literature and Folklore S-331 sergei.dotsenko@tlu.ee +372 640 9331
Irina Moissejenko Associate Professor of Russian Language Didactics S-330 irina.moissejenko@tlu.ee +372 640 9330
Natalja Netšunajeva Associate Professor of the History of the Russian Language S-330 natalja.netsunajeva@tlu.ee +372 640 9330
Grigori Utgof Associate Professor of Russian Literature and Literary Theory S-331 grigori.utgof@tlu.ee +372 640 9331
Boriss Baljasnõi Lecturer of Translation Theory and Practice S-331 boriss.baljasnoi@tlu.ee +372 640 9331
Jelena Raudla Teacher of Russian S-330 jelena.raudla@tlu.ee +372 640 9330
Natalija Sindetskaja Teacher of Polish S-330 Natalia.Sindetskaja@tlu.ee
Irina Belobrovtseva Senior Research Fellow S-331A irina.belobrovtseva@tlu.ee +372 640 9332
Alexander Danilevskiy Research Fellow S-331 alexander.danilevskiy@tlu.ee +372 640 9331
Aurika Meimre Associate Professor S-331A aurika.meimre@tlu.ee +372 640 9332
Galina Ponomarjova Research Fellow S-331 galina.ponomarjova@tlu.ee +372 640 9331
Denis Kuzmin Early-Stage Researcher S-330 denis.kuzmin@tlu.ee
Institute of History, Archaeology and Art History
Name Profession Room E-mail Phone no.
Karsten Brüggemann Head M-404, M-404 karsten.bruggemann@tlu.ee +372 6199 534
Aet Annist Associate Professor aet.annist@tlu.ee
Magnus Ilmjärv Associate Professor M-402 magnus.ilmjarv@tlu.ee +372 619 9532
Aivar Jürgenson Associate Professor M-402 aivar.jurgenson@tlu.ee
Inna Jürjo Senior Research Fellow M-410 inna.jurjo@tlu.ee
Villu Kadakas Associate Professor M-411 villu.kadakas@tlu.ee +372 619 9541
Tiina Kala Associate Professor M-417 tiina.kala.01@tlu.ee
Linda Kaljundi Associate Professor M-415 linda.kaljundi@tlu.ee
Juhan Kreem Associate Professor M-417 juhan.kreem@tlu.ee
Ivar Leimus Associate Professor M-417 ivar.leimus@tlu.ee
Marika Mägi Senior Research Fellow M-410 marika.magi.01@tlu.ee
Anu Mänd Associate Professor M-415 anu.mand@tlu.ee
Priit Raudkivi Senior Research Fellow M-416 priit.raudkivi@tlu.ee +372 619 9528
Atko-Sulhan Remmel Associate Professor atko-sulhan.remmel@tlu.ee
Jaan Undusk Associate Professor jaan.undusk@tlu.ee
Tõnno Jonuks Research Fellow tonno.jonuks@tlu.ee
Ulla Kadakas Research Fellow ulla.kadakas@tlu.ee
Kati Lindström Research Fellow kati.lindstrom@tlu.ee
Hembo Pagi Research Fellow M-411 hembo.pagi@tlu.ee
Aivar Põldvee Research Fellow M-417 aivar.poldvee@tlu.ee
Heli Reimann Research Fellow M-417 heli.reimann@tlu.ee
Elle-Mari Talivee Research Fellow elle-mari.talivee@tlu.ee
Kadri Tüür Research Fellow kadri.tuur@tlu.ee
Karl Hein Junior Research Fellow karl.hein@tlu.ee
Piia Sandra Sandrak Assistant M-411 piia_sandra.sandrak@tlu.ee
Ruta Bruževica Junior Research Fellow ruta.bruzevica@tlu.ee
Centre for Landscape and Culture
Name Profession Room E-mail Phone no.
Hannes Palang Head M-352, M-352 hannes.palang@tlu.ee +372 619 9557
Marju Kõivupuu Associate Professor M-351, M-351 marju.koivupuu@tlu.ee +372 619 9573
Tarmo Pikner Associate Professor M-344 tarmo.pikner@tlu.ee +372 619 9560
John Allen Buchanan Research Fellow S-508 john_allen.buchanan@tlu.ee
Raili Nugin Research Fellow M-350 raili.nugin@tlu.ee +372 619 9571
Anu Printsmann Research Fellow M-345 anu.printsmann@tlu.ee +372 619 9539
Aleksandra Ianchenko Junior Research Fellow M-356 aleksandra.ianchenko@tlu.ee
Saara Hanna Mildeberg Junior Research Fellow M-356 saara_hanna.mildeberg@tlu.ee
Louise Sophie Sträuli Junior Research Fellow M-356 louise.strauli@tlu.ee
Krista Karro Visiting Research Fellow M-350 krista.karro@tlu.ee
Emeriti
Name Profession Room E-mail Phone no.
Tiina Aunin Professor Emeritus tiina.aunin@tlu.ee
Irina Belobrovtseva Professor Emeritus S-331A irina.belobrovtseva@tlu.ee +372 640 9332
Mati Graf Professor Emeritus mati.graf@tlu.ee
Anu-Reet Hausenberg Professor Emeritus S-241 anu-reet.hausenberg@tlu.ee
Otto Jastrow Professor Emeritus otto.jastrow@tlu.ee
Krista Kerge Professor Emeritus krista.kerge@tlu.ee
Pille Kippar Professor Emeritus pille.kippar@tlu.ee
Mihhail Lotman Professor Emeritus M-315 mihhail.lotman@gmail.com +372 619 9548
Rein Veidemann Professor Emeritus S-241 rein.veidemann@tlu.ee
Jüri Viikberg Associate Professor Emeritus S-556 juri.viikberg@tlu.ee

Visiting Lecturers and Researchers

Name Profession Phone no. Room E-mail
Tiina Söderman  Visiting Lecturer of Finnish Language and Culture +358403626638 S-501

tiina.soderman@tlu.ee

(visiting hours Tues 13-14)

Sevda Özden Teacher of Turkish Language   M-330 sevda.ozden@tlu.ee

Language Teachers 2021 Autumn

Nimi                              Ruum E-post                                
English    
Jelena Kallonen S-419 jelena.kallonen@tlu.ee
Margarita Bondareva S-419 margarita.bondareva@tlu.ee
Peter Jonathan Rock S-419 peter_jonathan.rock@tlu.ee
Andreas Laks S-419 andreas.laks@tlu.ee
Kelsi Breanne West S-419 kelsi_breanne.west@tlu.ee
Liljana Skopinskaja S-419 liljana.skopinskaja@tlu.ee
Ryan Davis Sullivan Sandberg S-419 ryan_davis_sullivan.sandberg@tlu.ee
Kevin Patrick Molloy S-419 kevinmolloy92@gmail.com
Silvia Kurr S-419 skurr@tlu.ee
Tatjana Solovjova S-419 tatjana.solovjova@tlu.ee
Tatjana Mette S-419 tatjana.mette@tlu.ee
Melih Yildiz S-419 melih.yildiz@tlu.ee 
Johanna Taiger  S-419 johanna.taiger@tlu.ee
Mustafa Soysal S-419 mustafa.soysal@tlu.ee
Liset Muhu S-419 liset.muhu@tlu.ee
Elena Samsonova S-419

elena.samsonova@tlu.ee

Kristiine Kikas S-419 kristiine.kikas@tlu.ee
Eliise Belinets S-419 eliise.belinets@tlu.ee 
Anu Tammeleht S-419 anu.tammeleht@tlu.ee
Italian    

Evelina Valitutto

  evelina.valitutto@tlu.ee