Venue: Tallinn University, Estonia. Like us on Facebook!


Conference Program (PDF, opens in a new window) and Abstract Book (PDF, opens in a new window) 

The 18th International Conference on Language and Social Psychology (ICLASP18:2024) will be held between 12 to 16 June 2024. This is a joint initiative of the International Association of Language and Social Psychology (IALSP) and Tallinn University Baltic Film, Media and Arts School. The conference brings together scholars who engage in sociopsychological research and analysis concerning the role of language in society. It will host a number of panels across diverse areas including, but not limited to, health, culture, and current political issues. Discipline diversity is the hallmark of ICLASP and includes anthropology, sociology, communication, applied linguistics as well as social psychology.

Registration Fee: All presenters were required to be registered. Each registered participant was permitted to present one paper. Presenter registration closed on Monday, May 20th.

Registration for non-presenters closed on May 31, 2024.

Keynote speakers:

Professor Felix K. Ameka (University of Leiden, The Netherlands) Linguistic and Cultural Conceptualisations of Health and Well-Being

Professor Denise Haunani Solomon (Penn State University, USA) A Dynamic Dyadic Systems Perspective on Interpersonal Conversation

Professor Anna Verschik (Tallinn University, Estonia) Research on Family Language Policy in the Baltic Countries: State of Art

Professor Sally Wiggins Young (Linköping University, Sweden) Change Language to Fit People, not People to Fit Language 


Conference information:
Unless Covid restrictions are in place, the conference is scheduled to take place in person. Please be prepared to travel to the conference venue to be able to take part in it.
Please note that conference participants are allowed to be named as co-authors in more than one presentation. However, a contributor can be designated as the first author in only one contribution.

Abstract submission: 
Talks: 20 min presentation + 10 min discussion
Language: English

Abstract submission guidelines (deadline has passed):
Abstracts should be anonymised and not exceed 300 words, excluding references. Abstracts should clearly address the topic of the conference, state the research question(s), the method, and the (expected) results. They should also include a list of up to 5 keywords. Please submit your abstract here.

If you would like to submit a panel rather than a paper, please note that it should consist of 4-5 individual papers (their abstracts must conform to the above rules). Author information should be indicated on the first page of the panel proposal. To submit a panel please send an email to

Tamar Murachver Top Student Paper Award

- All students wishing to be considered for the Tamar Murachver Top Student Paper Award should submit an extended abstract (rather than a standard abstract) at initial submission.

- The extended abstract should be up to 1000 words of text (excluding references, tables and figures).

- If a student does *not* wish to be considered for the student paper award, they can always submit a standard length abstract as a regular abstract submission.

Important dates:

On 2nd December 2023, notifications of acceptance were sent out for the 1st submission deadline.

On 2nd February 2024, notifications of acceptance were sent out for the 2nd submission deadline.

Publication: ICLASP18 will result in two special issues of the Journal of Language and Social Psychology. Potential authors will be contacted during the abstract submission and review process. The article submission deadline will coincide with the start of ICLASP18. We anticipate these will be Special Issues published in the January and March Issues of the Journal of Language and Social Psychology 2025.

Scientific Committee: 

Dr Catherine Brooks - University of Arizona, USA

Sarah Choi - Massey University, New Zealand

Dr Marko Dragojevic - University of Kentucky, USA

Dr Jessica Gasiorek – University of Hawaii, USA

Dr Karolina Hansen - Center for Research on Prejudice at the University of Warsaw, Poland

Dr Elizabeth (Liz) Jones - Monash University, Malaysia

Dr Rachyl Pines - Stanford Health Care, USA

Dr Maggie J. Pitts - University of Arizona, USA

Dr Elvis ResCue - Kwame Nkrumah University of Science and Technology, Ghana

Dr Ann Rogerson - Faculty of Business and Law at University of Wollongong, Australia

Ivy Xiaoyan Wu - Department of English and Communication at Hong Kong Polytechnic University, Hong Kong

Dr Odilia Yim - University of Toronto, Canada

Dr Blair Ying Jin - The Hong Kong Polytechnic University, Hong Kong, China

Dr Anastassia Zabrodskaja - Tallinn University, Estonia

Dr Yan Bing Zhang - Department of Communication Studies at the University of Kansas, USA

Recommended accommodation options (PDF, opens in a new window)HERE

Contact Person: If you have any inquiries, please reach out to the conference chair, Professor Anastassia Zabrodskaja, at