The university is managed by the Council, the Senate and the Rector.

In 2019, the modernisation of the laws in the field of higher education took place as a part of which the Tallinn University Act entered into force on 1 September 2019. The most important change resulting from the act was the reform of the university´s management structure. In place of the previous two management bodies (the Senate and the Rector), the university now has three: the Council, the Senate and the Rector. Management bodies have different competences in the management of the university, including in the adoption of legal acts. To strengthen the university’s connection with the society, the Council includes non- university members, who currently make up over half of the Council. The new management model provides broader input and greater involvement when making management decisions.
The new management model came into full effect on 1 January 2020.

Council is the management body of the university responsible for the university´s long-term and sustainable development, as well as for making important economic, financial and assets-related decisions, ensuring the achievement of the university`s goals.

Senate is the academic decision-making body of the university which is responsible for the research, development, creative and teaching activities of the university and ensures the high quality thereof.

Rector  manages the university´s day-to-day activities in accordance with the university’s development plan, the budget and other strategic documents. The Rector assigns the number, areas of activity and competences of the vice-rectors and administrative directors in the Rectorate.

Academic units are managed by the council of the unit and the director.