Alumnus/Alumna of the year is the highest award Tallinn University gives their alumni for exceptional performance in improving well-being on an international, national or loval level. The Alumnus/Alumna of the year award is given to a person or a group of alumni.

The Distinguished Alumna/Alumnus is an award given for exceptional contribution within the areas the university prioritises. The award is given for professionalism, ethics and innovation, contribution to the society and university development. Distinguished Alumni can be several people or groups of people.

Tallinn University Alumni of the Year:
Year Name Year of Graduation Occupation at the time of Receiving the Award
2017 Triin Ruumet  2014 Director
2016 Kalev Pihl 2002 CEO of SK ID Solutions
2015 Filmi “Risttuules” meeskond ja režissöör Martti Helde 2011 Filmistuudio Allfilm režissöör
2015 Filmi "Nullpunkt" meeskond ja režissöör Mihkel Ulk 2010 Filmistuudio Allfilm režissöör
Distinguished Alumni of Tallinn University:
Year Name Year of graduation Occupation at the time of receiving the award
2016 Janne Andresoo 1987 CEO of Estonian National Library
2016 Jan Kaus 1995 Writer
2016 Mart Kuurme 1997 Teacher of Physics at Tallinn Secondary School of Science
2016 Marje Paljak 1999 Manager of Social Welfare Office at the Tallinn Centre District Administration
2016 Matis Rei 2011 Sound Director, Lecturer at BFM
2016 Teibi Torm 2011 Promoter of "Back to School"
2015 Martin Ehala 1990 Professor of estonian language didactics and applied linguistics at University of Tartu
2015 Andrei Ivanov 1998 Freelance writer
2015 Kadi Kruusma 2005 Vice director of Rakvere High School
2015 Rein Oselin 1991 Director of Järvamaa Vocational Education Centre
2015 Marko Reikop 1991 Host and editor at Estonian National Broadcasting
2015 Darja Saar 2008 Editor-in-chief of ETV+
2015 Marian Võsumets 2014 Host of Tudeng.tv
2015 Anu Välba 1998 Host and editor at Estonian National Broadcasting
2014 Uno Veismann 1957 Senior researcher at Tartu Observatory and associate professor emeritus at University of Tartu
2014 Toomas Tõnise 1976. Vice president of the Estonian Olympic Committee
2014 Toomas Luhats 2001 Procurement manager at Elion NutiTV
2014 Toomas Kruusimägi 1986 Director of Tallinn English College
2014 Jürgen Rooste 2012 Freelance writer and poet
2014 Anneli Aken 2005 Conductor and choirmaster in Germany
2014 Peeter Sipelgas 2001 Teacher and head of knowledge centre at Viimsi High School
2014 Helmen Kütt BA 2001

MA 2003

Minister of Social Security of the Republic of Estonia
2014 Elle Jürgenson 2007 Medic and head of evacuation group on military missions in Afghanistan
2014 Mart Kangro 1996 Focuses on his own choreographic work