The Society for Phenomenology and Media 25th Annual Conference


Add to calendar

iCal calendar


Download the SPM2024 detailed programme here

Download the programme overview

Download the book of abstracts


Keynote Speakers

Dermot Moran

Joseph Chair in Catholic Philosophy at Boston College and visiting professor at the University College Dublin

Sara Heinämaa

Professor of Philosophy at the University of Jyväskylä

Vice President of the Philosophical Society of Finland

Katrin Tiidenberg

Professor of Participatory Culture at the Baltic Film, Media, and Arts School of Tallinn University in Estonia

Venue and Schedule

University of Tallinn, Estonia, School of Humanities, Philosophy / Cultural Studies.

All sessions of the conference will be held at Tallinn University, Mare building, in Estonia.

  • 14 May: Arrivals and a Welcome Reception

  • 15-17 May: Conference Sessions

  • 18-19 May: Practical phenomenology sessions and guided tours



Download the SPM2024 detailed programme here

Download the programme overview





Organizing Committee

  • Rita Niineste, 2024 Programme Chair, Tallinn University

  • Tõnu Viik, Ph.D., Tallinn University Rector, SPM Board of Directors

  • Nicola Liberati, Ph.D., SPM President, 2022 Programme Chair 

  • Melinda Campbell, Ph.D., SPM Vice Chair, 2015 Programme Chair

  • Stacey O. Irwin, Ph.D., SPM Vice President, 2023 Programme Chair 

  • Luis Acebal, Ph.D., SPM Treasurer

  • Jacques Ibanez Bueno, Ph.D., 2025 Programme Chair


Please refer to the SPM website for practical and travel information:

Any questions regarding the conference and submissions may be directed to Rita Niineste, 2024 Programme Chair