The Senate is responsible for important decisions on the research, development, creative and teaching activities, and adopts the Tallinn University statutes. The Senate has the right to impose a single veto on the Council`s decision to adopt the development plan or budget. The Senate is competent to establish, transform and dissolve academic units and their subunits and institutions.

The Senate includes by position the rector, vice-rectors, administrative directors, directors of academic units and the institution, as well as elective members: the representatives of teaching and research staff and the representatives of students.

1 September 2020 to 31 August 2021:

1.Members of the Senate by position

Priit Reiska, Acting Rector, Vice-Rector for Academic Affairs
priit.reiska@tlu.ee

Katrin Niglas, Vice-Rector for Research
katrin.niglas@tlu.ee

Andres Jõesaar, Vice-Rector for Creative Activities and Cooperation
andres.joesaar@tlu.ee

Helen Sooväli-Sepping, Vice-Rector for Sustainable Development
helen.soovali@tlu.ee

Kurmet Ojamaa, Head of Finances
kurmet.ojamaa@tlu.ee

Indrek Grauberg, Director of Governance, Law and Society School
yti-direktor@tlu.ee

Peeter Normak, Director of Digital Technologies School
peeter.normak@tlu.ee

Ruth Shimmo, Director of Natural Sciences and Health School
ruth.shimmo@tlu.ee

Margus Vihalem, Director of Humanities School
margus.vihalem@tlu.ee

Birgit Vilgats, Director of Baltic Film, Media, Arts and Communication School
birgit.vilgats@tlu.ee

Tiia Õun, Director of Educational Sciences School
tiia.oun@tlu.ee

Heli Kaldas, Director of Haapsalu College
heli.kaldas@hk.tlu.ee

Andres Kollist, Director of Academic Library
andres.kollist@tlu.ee

 

1.1. Representatives of teaching and research staff

Jaanus Terasmaa, Senior Research Fellow and Head of Ecology Institute, School of Natural Sciences and Health
jaanus.terasmaa@tlu.ee

Kairit Tammets, Senior Research Fellow in Educational Technology and Head of Centre for Educational Technology, School of Digital Technologies
kairit.tammets@tlu.ee

Piret Viires, Professor of Estonian Literature and Literary Theory, School of Humanities
piret.viires@tlu.ee

Tobias Ley, Professor of Learning Analytics and Educational Innovation, School of Educational Sciences
tobias.ley@tlu.ee

Leif Kalev, Professor of State and Citizenship Theory, School of Governance, Law and Society
leif.kalev@tlu.ee

Tõnis Saarts, Associate Professor of Comparative Politics, School of Governance, Law and Society
tonis.saarts@tlu.ee

Uku Lember, Lecturer of General History, School of Humanities
uku.lember@tlu.ee

Maria Erss, Associate Professor of Curriculum Theory, School of Educational Sciences
maria.erss@tlu.ee

Kairi Koort, Lecturer of Systems Biology, School of Natural Sciences and Health
kairi.koort@tlu.ee

Hannes Palang, Professor of Human Geography, School of Humanities
hannes.palang@tlu.ee

Aigi Heero, Associate Professor of German and Didactics, School of Humanities
aigi.heero@tlu.ee

Kadi Liik, Lecturer of Organizational and Developmental Psychology, School of Natural Sciences and Health
kadi.liik@tlu.ee

Indrek Ibrus, Professor of Media Innovation, Baltic Film, Media, Arts and Communication School
indrek.ibrus@tlu.ee

Karel Kulbin, Lecturer of Recreation Management, School of Natural Sciences and Health
karel.kulbin@tlu.ee

 

Representatives of students

Hanna Gerta Alamets, School of Humanities
hgerta@tlu.ee

Kristel Jakobson, School of Governance, Law and Society
krjakobs@tlu.ee

Helevi Jurjev, School of Humanities
helevi.jurjev@tlu.ee

Katrina Koppel, School of Governance, Law and Society
katrina.koppel@tlu.ee

Erik Mikkus, School of Humanities
erik.mikkus@tlu.ee

Karl Velmet, School of Humanities
karl.velmet@tlu.ee

Johanna Viik, School of Governance, Law and Society
johanna.viik@tlu.ee