The Senate is the collegial decision-making body of Tallinn University, consisting of the rector, vice-rectors, director of facilities and finances, representatives of academic units, institutions associated with the university, the advisory board and students.

The Senate can approve and make changes to the foundation documents and structure of the university and make decisions that regulate the study, research and development activities of the university and the management of the budget. The Senate is also responsible for electing the university's professors, senior researchers, honorary members, honorary doctors and honorary professors and for conferring emeritus ranks.

In order to further discuss and resolve issues in different fields, the Senate may create Standing and Interim committees.

Development and Economic Affairs Committee
Academic Affairs and Research Committee

Members of the Senate

Name Position
Tiit Land rector, head of senate
Priit Reiska vice-rector for academic affairs
Katrin Niglas vice-rector for research
Andres Jõesaar vice-rector for creative activities and cooperation
Peep Jonas director of facilities and finances
Tiina Hiob lecturer, Baltic Film, Media, Arts and Communication School
Mihkel Kangur senior research fellow, School of Natural Sciences and Health
Eva Liina Kliiman student representative
Peeter Kondratjev Academic Library representative
Tõnu Laas professor, School of Natural Sciences and Health
Hele Leek-Ambur lecturer, Haapsalu College
Madis Lepik associate professor, School of Digital Technologies
Aurika Meimre senior research fellow, associate professor, School of Humanities
Kelli Piksar student representative
Hannes Palang research professor, School of Humanities
Kristjan Port associate professor, School of Natural Sciences and Health
Karl Andreas Sprenk student representative
Mart Susi associate professor, School of Governance, Law and Society
Marek Tamm senior research fellow, professor, School of Humanities
Tauri Kirsipuu student representative
Marge Unt senior research fellow, School of Governance, Law and Society
Marko Vainu student representative
Katrin Poom-Valickis associate professor, School of Educational Sciences
Piret Viires professor, School of Humanities
Sirje Virkus professor, School of Digital Technologies
Kaarel Taimla student representative
Elina Kersa student representative
Hille Erik senate secretary