The Council is the management body of the university, responsible for the university´s long- term and sustainable development and important decisions concerning economic issues, finances and assets, ensuring the long-term development of the university. The Council adopts the university’s budget and the development plan. The Council has the right to impose a single veto on the Senate´s decision to adopt the Tallinn University statutes.

The Council has 11 members, five of which are appointed by the Senate, one by the Estonian Academy of Sciences and five by the Minister of Education and Research. The composition of the Council is determined by the Government of the Republic of Estonia based on the proposal by the minister in charge of the respective area.

The Chair of the Tallinn University Council is Taavi Laur.

Composition of the Council 2020 - 2025

Members appointed by the Minister of Education and Research

Taavi Laur
Chair of TLU Council
Managing Partner, Member of the Executive Board, Aureus Capital Consulting OÜ
taavi.laur@gmail.com

Edith Sepp
Vice-Chair of TLU Council
CEO, Estonian Film Institute
edith@filmi.ee

Andres Kütt
CTO, Proud Engineers
andres.kytt@gmail.com

Peeter Raudsepp
Chairman of the Management Board, Enterprise Estonia
peeter.raudsepp@eas.ee

Urmo Uiboleht
Head, Tartu Private School
Member of the Executive Board, Foundation for Education Promotion (Hariduse Edendamise SA)
Chairperson, Estonian School Heads Association (Eesti Koolijuhtide Ühendus)
urmo.uiboleht@tera.tartu.ee

Member appointed by the Estonian Academy of Sciences

Ülo Langel
Professor, Department of Biochemistry and Biophysics, Stockholm University
Professor, Institute of Technology, University of Tartu
Adjunct Visiting Professor, The Scripps Research Institute
Honorary Visiting Professor, University of Ljubljana
Member of Academia Europaea
External member of the Estonian Academy of Science
ulo.langel@dbb.su.se

Members named by the Senate

Eve Eisenschmidt
Professor of Education Policy and Management, School of Educational Sciences
eve.eisenschmidt@tlu.ee

Kristjan Port
Professor of Sports Biology, School of Natural Sciences and Health
kristjan.port@tlu.ee

Aleksander Pulver
Associate Professor of Personality Psychology, School of Natural Sciences and Health
aleksander.pulver@tlu.ee

Hagi Šein
Lecturer of Television Studies, Baltic Film, Media, Arts and Communication School
hagi.shein@tlu.ee

Marek Tamm
Professor of Cultural History, School of Humanities
marek.tamm@tlu.ee